SEMC Program Committee: a great way to get involved

SEMC2020 Program Committee

What is the SEMC Program Committee? 

The SEMC Program Committee is comprised of approximately 30 SEMC members and is co-chaired by Michelle Schulte, Gallery Director/Chief Curator at the Anna Lamar Switzer Center for the Visual Art at Pensacola State College and Beth Hoover DeBerry, Manager of Docent-Volunteers/Program Division Administrator at the Reynolda House Museum of American Art. The Program Committee is a diverse group of emerging to established museum professionals, appointed representatives from SEMC’s affinity groups and industry partners and SEMC staff.

The Program Committee evaluates content for the Annual Meeting by reviewing session proposal submissions through a peer-review process at the SEMC *Mid-Year Meeting which will be held March 11, 2021 in Chattanooga, Tennessee. The Committee works closely with SEMC staff to ensure the program reflects a thoughtful balance of topics based on the needs of the field, previous meeting evaluations, and active conversations in the field.

Meet the 2021 SEMC Program Committee

*2021 Program Committee members will have the option to attend the mid-year meeting virtually.

SEMC2019 Program Committee 

How can I join the Program Committee?

The SEMC Program Committee is comprised of 30 members representing various career stages, types and sizes of museums, and disciplines within our field. Existing Program Committee members are offered a chance to serve annually for up to five years. New Program Committee members are added as others rotate off. The number of available spots varies from year-to-year; Program Committee Chairs maintain a waitlist once available slots are filled. 

The application period for the 2021 Program Committee has closed. Please READ the expectations and consider submitting an application in fall 2021 for SEMC2022.

Who can I contact with questions about Program Committee?

Program Committee is a commitment of time, energy and travel (ie. $$). Please consider your capacity to do the work and reach out with any questions prior to application:

Zinnia Willits, SEMC Executive Director

Michelle Schulte, 2021 Program Committee Chair: 

Beth Hoover DeBerry, 2021 Program Committee Co-Chair:

SEMC2018 Program Committee