tel: (404) 378-3153    fax: (404) 814-2031    membershipservices@semcdirect.net    CONTACT us

About the SEMC

The Southeastern Museums Conference (SEMC), nonprofit membership organization, is an association of museums, museum staff, independent professionals and corporate partners. We focus on the Southeastern United State including: Alabama, Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, North Carolina, South Carolina, Tennessee, Virginia, West Virginia, Puerto Rico, and US Virgin Islands.

We work to:

  • Provide educational and professional development opportunities
  • Improve the interchange of ideas and information
  • Encourage respect and collegiality

Officers:

President:

Darcie MacMahon

Director of Exhibits & Public Programs

Florida Museum of Natural History

Gainesville, FL

[352] 273-2053

dmacmahon@flmnh.ufl.edu


Vice President:

Dawn Hammatt

Exhibitions Project Director

Mississippi Arts and Entertainment Experience

Meridian, MS

[601] 581-1550

dawn@msarts.org


Secretary:

Robin Seage Person

Branch Director

Historic Jefferson College

Washington, MS

[601] 442-2901

rperson@mdah.state.ms.us


Treasurer:

Robin Reed

Director

Fort Monroe Casemate

Fort Monroe , VA

[757] 690.8062

rreed@fmauthority.com


Past President:

David Butler

Executive Director

Knoxville Museum of Art

Knoxville, TN

[865] 524-1260

dbutler@knoxart.org


Council

Catherine Pears

Executive Director

Alexandria Museum of Art

Alexandria, LA

[318] 443-3458

cpears@lsua.edu


Kathleen Hutton

Director of Education

Reynolda House Museum of American Art

Winston Salem, NC

[336] 758-5394

khutton@wfu.edu


Zinnia Willits

Director of Collections and Operations

Gibbes Museum of Art

Charleston, SC

[843] 722-2706, ext. 232

zwillits@gibbesmuseum.org


Elise LeCompte 

Registrar and Asst. Dept. Chair

Florida Museum of Natural History

Gainesville, FL 

[352] 273-1925

lecompte@flmnh.ufl.edu


Heather Marie Wells

Digital Media Project Manager

Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art

Bentonville, AR

[479] 418-5755

HeatherMarie.Wells@crystalbridges.org


Jenny Lamb

Discovery Center at Murfree Spring

Murfreesboro, TN

Jennylamb98@gmail.com


Deborah Mack

Associate Director Community & Constituent Services

Smithsonian’s National Museum of African American History and Culture Washington, D.C.

[202] 633-4513

MackDLynn@si.edu


Kyle Elizabeth Bryner

Registrar & Collections Manager, Museum of the Shenandoah Valley

Winchester, VA

[540] 662-1473, ext. 204

kbryner@theMSV.org


Brian Hicks

Director

Desoto County Museum

Hernando, MS

[662] 429-8852

director@desotomuseum.org


Deitrah J. Taylor

Cultural Center Coordinator

The Cultural Center, Georgia College and State University

Milledgeville, GA

[478] 320-4010

dtaylorhistorian@gmail.com


Julie Harris

Executive Director

River Discovery Center

Paducah, KY

[270] 575-9958

jharris@riverdiscoverycenter.org


Priscilla Cooper

Vice President of Institutional Programs

Birmingham Civil Rights Institute

Birmingham, AL

[205] 328-9696

pcooper@bcri.org


Contact Us

SEMC
PO Box 550746
Atlanta, GA 30355-3246
[404] 378-3153
[404] 814-2031 fax
EMAIL